THE ALASKA LEGISLATURE



* HONORING *

* 2011 OUTSTANDING SCHOOL BOARD OF THE YEAR * * KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT *

The members of the Twenty-seventh Alaska State Legislature congratulate the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District Board of Education on its 2011 award as Alaska's Outstanding School Board of the Year.

The Association of Alaska School Boards honors one school board each year for outstanding achievement based on five criteria.

The first criterion is community engagement. The Kenai School District is geographically immense with an incredibly diverse student population; the district covers a geographic area larger than the state of West Virginia and includes 44 schools, four of which are off the road system, and serves nearly 9,000 students, 2,679 of which travel a total of 7,507 miles on school buses each school day. The Kenai School District Board partnered with over 100 organizations including government agencies, nonprofits, churches, businesses, and public safety agencies to provide meaningful programs for Kenai's culturally, socially and economically diverse population. These programs range from Kenai Peninsula College programs for high school students, to Native Youth Leadership, to DARE, to a Construction Academy, to Youth Court, to a Kenai Watershed Forum. All of the partnerships address the educational, emotional, physical, and safety needs of Kenai's students.

Also key to winning the AASB award was the Kenai School Board's high level of points received from AASB/UAF Boardsmanship Academy, based on demonstrated evidence of leadership as measured against AASB School Board Standards, meaningful participation in state and national activities and significant evidence of growth in student achievement as measured by rigorous student testing.

The 2011 Kenai School Board includes: Joe Arness, Board President; Liz Downing, Board Vice-President; Sunni Hilts of Seldovia; Sammy Crawford of Kenai; Marty Anderson of Sterling; Lynn Hohl of Seward; Bill Holt of Kasilof; Tim Navarre of Kenai; and Penny Vadla of Soldotna.

The Twenty-seventh Alaska State Legislature congratulates the Kenai School Board members on their AASB 2011 Outstanding School Board of the Year award and honors them for their unyielding commitment to Kenai students and their community.

MIKE CHENAULT SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE

PRIME SPONSOR

Date: March 19, 2012

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

PRIME SPONSOR

Cosponsors: Senators Stevens, Coghill, Davis, Dyson, Egan, Ellis, Giessel, Hoffman, Huggins, Kookesh, McGuire, Menard, Meyer, Olson, Paskvan, Stedman, Thomas, Wielechowski; Representatives Chenault, Cissna, Costello, Dick, Doogan, Edgmon, Fairclough, Feige, Foster, Gara, Gardner, Gatto, Gruenberg, Guttenberg, Hawker, Herron, Holmes, Johansen, Johnson, Joule, Kawasaki, Keller, Kerttula, Lynn, Miller, Millett, Muñoz, Neuman, Petersen, Pruitt, Saddler, Seaton.