Nancy Courtright Recognized as BP Teacher of the Year

2010 BP Teacher of the Year

Pictured (L-R) David O’Connor, BP Vice President / Nancy Courtright BP Teacher of the Year / Dr. Steve Atwater, KPBSD Superintendent. 

Nancy Courtright, of Soldotna Elementary School was recognized as BP's Teacher of the Year for the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District at the 15th Annual BP Teachers of Excellence awards ceremony. Six teachers were honored as the 2010 BP Teachers of Excellence for the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District.

Nancy Courtright teaches fourth grade at Soldotna Elementary School. She believes that learning is facilitated through educational field trips that bring real life experiences back into her classroom. Courtright has been teaching for 25 years on the Kenai Peninsula. She is a member of the school district’s health committee and sponsor of the Soldotna Elementary Geography Bee.

The 2010 Kenai Peninsula BP Teachers of Excellence are:

Kathy Atkinson

Mountain View Elementary School
 Nancy CourtrightSoldotna Elementary School
 Dan MarshallSeward High School
 Debbie SchmidtNikolaevsk School
 Daniel VerkuilenKenai Middle School
 Nancy VaitHomer Flex High School

Each Teacher of Excellence receives a $500 gift card and an award certificate. In addition, the school of each of the Teachers of Excellence will receive $500. As BP’s Teacher of the Year, Nancy Courtright will receive an additional $1,500 scholarship for continuing education and a bronze sculpture by Alaska artist Mary Regat.

The BP Teachers of Excellence program recognizes teachers from throughout Alaska for their dedication to teaching and for inspiring students. This year more than 500 nominations were received from the Kenai Peninsula, Mat-Su, Fairbanks and Anchorage communities.