Math Meet counted a success!

(L-R) Tehya Naylor, Rae Potton

When it comes to math, nearly 100 Kenai Peninsula Borough School District students counted in with a yes, I’ll participate!

The 9th Annual Kenai Peninsula Middle School Math Meet took place Friday, April 11, 2014, at Homer Middle School. A joint collaboration between the Homer Middle School and the Kachemak Bay Campus of the Kenai Peninsula College, it is structured on the national mathematics enrichment program called MathCounts. The Math Meet is a fun, yet competitive venue for area students to participate in an academically challenging contest without the added costs of traveling to Anchorage. Homer Middle School (HMS) and Kenai Middle School (KMS) students are regular participants in the national program, and also attend the MathCounts meet in Anchorage each year.

This year’s team from HMS placed second in the state meet, over some very competitive teams from Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau. Great job for all the competitors of this year’s Middle School Math meet! As one student said, after the meet was over, “It is so nice to be rewarded for being smart!”

Results from the 9th Annual Kenai Peninsula Math Meet

  • The top twelve competitors, going to the Countdown Round were: Douglas Dean, Willem Strydom, Ben Kettle, Denver Waclawski, Tim Blakely, Koby Etzwiler from Homer Middle Justin Anderson, Quinn Lucas, Ryan Hill, Matthew Torkelson, Mayzie Rae Potton, and Tehya Naylor.
  • Matthew Torkelson from Aurora Borealis Charter School was the winner of the Countdown Round.
  • Willem Strydom from Homer Middle School was the winner of the Sprint Round.
  • Quinn Lucas from Aurora Borealis Charter School was the winner of the Target Round.
  • The Top Team was comprised of: Ryan Hill (K-Beach), Quinn Lucas (Aurora Borealis Charter School), Dakota Harris (HMS), Noah Fisk (WHE)
  • Willem Strydom was the overall top scorer.

Thank you to Sara L Reinert and Rand Seaton (KPBSD teacher) for providing this story, and coordinating this annual event.

(L-R) Derek Bynagle, Rand Seaton
Countdown Competitors
The 9th Annual Kenai Peninsula Math Meet

KPBSD Facebook Logo 2013 SML